Review: Superhero by Eli Easton

SuperheroTitle: Superhero
AuthorEli Easton
Release Date: July 25, 2013
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Pages: 136
Read: January 1, 2013

Book Blurb (from Goodreads):

It’s not easy for a young gay artist like Jordan Carson to grow up in Jefferson, Wisconsin, where all anyone seems to care about in middle school and high school are the sports teams. But Jordan was lucky. He met Owen Nelson in the second grade, and they’ve been BFFs ever since. Owen is a big, beautiful blond and their school’s champion wrestler. No one messes with Owen, or with anyone close to him, and he bucks popular opinion by keeping Jordan as his wingman even after Jordan comes out at school.

Their friendship survives, but Jordan’s worst enemy may be himself: he can’t seem to help the fact that he is head-over-heels in love with a hopeless case—his straight friend, Owen. Owen won’t let anything take Jordan’s friendship away, but he never counted on Jordan running off to find a life of his own. Owen will have to face the nature of their relationship if he’s to win Jordan back.

My Thoughts:

Ladies and gentlemen, I give you my first GFY of the year! Look what it did to me:

This is my second book by Eli Easton, the first being Blame It On the Mistletoe—*sighs* Fielding—, and I’m pretty sure that I have a new auto-buy author because this was just wonderful. Jordan and Owen were the perfect couple to welcome me into the New Year. Their friendship made me smile, and awww, and just feel all warm inside (and right now, with it being as cold as it is where I am, I welcome all the warmth I can get be it from hot chocolate, extremely soft blankets, or awww inducing GFY reads).

Superhero is one of those books that has been on my TBR for so long that I’m kind of ashamed of the fact now that I’ve read it. As a lover of many genres, my very favorite are contemporaries, or, as I learned in elementary school, realistic fiction, and this guys—this book right here, these two young men—are the definition of real. Easton has a gift of weaving stories and characters that are so real they feel as though they were happening to people I knew and cared about because you can’t read Superhero and not, in the very least, end up caring for Jordan and Owen. It’s just not possible.

Told from both Jordan and Owen’s perspective you get to see their friendship grow from the very beginning when they meet in the second grade and Owen sits next to Jordan. Even at the tender age of seven, Jordan knows that Owen is something special. He’s different. By the looks of him, he could be the kind of guy that picks on you, but Jordan knows that with Owen that isn’t the case. He wants Owen to be his friend, he needs Owen to be his friend, and so, without realizing it due to his age, he sets off on his first seduction. How? With toy cars. And he succeeds.

And so it begins.

Owen and Jordan have the kind of friendship that everyone needs in their life. They’re each other’s everything. Owen loves two things in his life: His Jordy and wrestling. Jordan loves two things in life: His Owen and art. Everything is perfect . . . until Jordan realizes something . . . he’s in love with his best friend.

Owen, though he loves Jordan, doesn’t love Jordan. He’s straight . . . right? Right. Kind of.

I know this might not be some people’s cup of tea because of the fact that it is a YA/NA (young adult/new adult) read, but that shouldn’t deter you from picking up this book and reading it right now. One, because everyone should become introduced to Owen and Jordan, and two, because there are a couple of scenes in Superhero that are decidedly not young-adult (which is the G-rated version of me telling you that those scenes were hot as fuck).

The only complaints that I have with the story is that one, it is much too short and I wanted more Owen and Jordan sexy time, and two, the ending felt just a little too abrupt with me. I’m not exactly sure why, but I think it’s because the ending isn’t shared with Owen and Jordan but Jordan and Owen’s mother. I loved what she was saying to him, but I would have loved it even more if Owen had just walked into the room, kissed Jordan on the cheek or something, and just smiled at him. I don’t know. It was a nice ending, just not what I wanted.

In any case, go do yourself a favor and read this gem because it is so worth it.

Quotable Quotes:

“I noticed some of the wrestlers and football players eyeing Owen at the table and not looking too thrilled about it. I almost flipped them off then remembering that I’m, like, twenty pounds shy of the right to be cocky. I kept my finger to myself.”
~✺~✺~✺~

“No one’s going to come shopping if the ‘for sale’ sign isn’t on the door.”
~✺~✺~✺~

“What you are to me is the guy that I’ve been madly in love with since sixth grade. You’re the guy I think about every night when I’m in bed by myself. You’re the one who doesn’t want me but insists on keeping me tied so close that I can’t have anyone else, who keeps one hand on my collar and the other hand up his girlfriend’s skirt. And I can’t do it anymore!”
~✺~✺~✺~

“Say, yes, Jordan,” he said, shifting closer.
“No,” I said.
Owen smiled. “Close enough.” And then he kissed me.
~✺~✺~✺~

My Rating:

1 Smooch1 Smooch1 Smooch1 Smooch

Add to Goodreads ButtonBuy on Amazon Button

Leave a Reply

