Most Anticipated Reads: February

I think this post might as well be sub-titled “I want it! I want it NOW!”

Catherine asked, and so she received.

A raise of hands: Who here sets a TBR each month with books that they want to get to within that time frame? *Counts* Alright, now who here is a mood reader who says a big screw you to TBRs and lives by the motto: “I’ll read what I want when I damn well want to”? *Counts*

Yeah… that’s kinda what we thought.

It just so happens that both of us are mood readers. We almost never stick to our TBRs (Catherine is witness to just how quickly I change my mind about reading a book), and books that we really wanted to read – like, yesterday – are put on the back burner when we come across something newer and shinier. It’s a problem and we know it . . . we just don’t care.

Yeah, you guessed it. We’re total badasses. *Fist pump*

But despite our status as mood readers, it doesn’t stop us from hoping that a few of the books that we really want to get to are ones that fit our fickle whims each month. So, in hopes that we’ll finally stick to a TBR pile if it’s small enough, here are three books each – new and old – that we’re hoping to read in February.

Runell’s 3 Most Anticipated Reads of February 2014:

Bone Rider1. Bone Rider by J. Fally: I’m sorry, but have you ever read a cooler synopsis to a book than this one? Let me break it down for you: Riley is on the run for his life from, who he thought was, the love of his life who is actually a part of the Russian mob. An alien (I’m guessing not of the little green men variety) is running from the U.S. military because he forgot how to parallel park a spaceship (I might have paraphrased that a little bit) who stows away in Riley’s truck but then decides that the best course of action is to stow away in Riley himself. Their reluctant partnership–methinks Riley doesn’t take to kindly of the fact that his body is being used as a hideout–turns into something much more.

See! told you! Awesomeness on a level in which awesomeness had never dared to go before.

And you know when I review this baby, Star Trek .gifs will be a must. I’m warning you now.

Something Like Autumn2. Something Like Autumn by Jay Bell: Seeing as the fourth and final book in the Season series was just released, it’s time I finally put on my big girl britches and read this one. I love Jay Bell. Every single one of his works that I’ve read, I’ve loved. I know this one will be absolutely no different. The thing is, I know how the end happens for the main character in this book (he is a main character in the first two books). I was heartbroken when I read about it in Something Like Summer. I don’t know how I’m going to be able to handle it. I don’t handle angst very well. So many of my Goodreads friends thrive on the stuff, crave it, but I can only handle so much of it before I have this mental breakdown and when it comes time to review it, I can’t form words so I resort to .gifs.

Then I lay in bed with the covers pulled over my head, my knees pulled up to my chest, rock back and forth, and make a mantra out of: Why? Why? Why? . . . And no. I didn’t forget to take my medication . . . I think.

Silent3. Silent by Sara Alva: I know, I know, I know! I just got through saying that I don’t handle angst very well, and here I go wanting to read about a boy who doesn’t belong and a “special” mute boy, but I’ve been dying to read this ever since it was gifted to me this past Christmas by my Secret Santa (thank you!), and I absolutely loved Sara Alva’s Social Skills so I’m willing to risk my sanity to finally be able to say that I’ve read what looks like to be an amazing book (talk about Cover Lust).

Just don’t expect me to be very . . . sane during the times that I’m reading Something Like Autumn and Silent because I can guarantee you, that’s just not going to happen.

Catherine’s 3 Most Anticipated Reads of February 2014:

Broken Pieces Cover1. Broken Pieces by Riley Hart Broken Pieces is set to be released on February 4th, a day which also just happens to be my birthday! I don’t know about you, but I can’t think of a better way to celebrate turning 30 than with a smokin’ hot book that has not one, not two, but three sexy leading men. One for each decade, right?! 😀

I have to admit that menage books are usually hit-or-miss with me; it’s too easy for bad writing to cause them to feel cheap and dirty as opposed to sweet and steamy. I need to feel that solid, loving connection between all of my main characters. Otherwise, it totally kills the mood and ruins the book for me. Fortunately, I’ve read another book by this author (Collide – Blackcreek #1) and have faith that Ms. Hart can pull off everything I’m looking for.

The Boy Who Belonged Cover

2. The Boy Who Belonged (Boy #2) by Lisa Henry & J.A. Rock – It’s no secret that I LOVE Lisa Henry & J.A. Rock. Individually they are fantastic authors, but together those two ladies create some of the sweetest, sexiest, funniest, most fearless main characters I have ever come across in the romance genre. And it doesn’t hurt that they can write love scenes that are are so fucking hot they’ll melt your panties right off! I love that they have the ability to explore kinks that I’ve never found appealing (cross-dressing) or have found downright scary (fisting, anyone?!) in a way that challenges me to push my own boundaries regarding the way that I think about sex and intimacy. These particular kinks may never turn my crank, but Henry & Rock write in such a way that I start to understand the needs that they can fulfill for other people. And hey, we all have our kinks, so no judgement here!

But why am I looking forward to reading The Boy Who Belonged, specifically? Well, I read The Good Boy (Boy #1) and The Naughty Boy (Boy #1.5) in December 2013 and they were so frickin’ good. I fell in love with Lane’s vulnerability and Derek’s big heart and the chemistry that the two of them had together and I just want more! That’s as complicated as it gets.

Promises Cover3. Promises (Coda #1) by Marie Sexton – When I first starting reading MM Romance books, a friend gifted me a copy of this book and told me that it was hands-down one of her favourite books – and series – of all time. That is a lot of pressure to put on a book! What if I read it and didn’t like it?! I’d feel like I was letting my friend down (silly, I know, but there you have it). And so this book sat on my Kindle. And it sat. And it sat. I look at it every now and then with my finger hovering over the select button, and then at the last second, I chicken out. Well, no more chickening out! I am reading this book in February. There! It’s written on the internet for the whole world to see (and we all know that everything written on the internet is true).

What are you most looking forward to reading this month? Let us know in the comments section below.

One thought on “Most Anticipated Reads: February

  1. Pingback: Most Anticipated Reads: March |

Leave a Reply

