Review: Unattainable by Madeline Sheehan

UnattainableTitleUnattainable
Author: Madeline Sheehan
SeriesUndeniable #3
Release Date: January 20, 2013
Pages: 306
Read: January 6-13, 2014

Book Blurb (from Goodreads):

Warning: This is not a virtuous and tender love story. It’s chaotic, ruthless, and tragic. This story takes love and kills its innocence, steals away the pure moments, and crushes the hearts of the broken. A story born in childhood, tying one girl to one boy, leads to a destructive path—that hurts more than it doesn’t, that shatters more than it heals—testing the love that binds the two through a lifetime.

Tegen Matthews is the daughter of Dorothy Kelley, a club whore in the Hell’s Horsemen. A plain little girl, Tegen falls into the gritty world of the motorcycle club. When she meets a sweet, caring boy, she embraces the warmth and affection he shows her. Cage West is the son of the president of the Hell’s Horsemen. Tall and blond with deep brown eyes, as he grows up Cage realizes the power of his dimpled smile and smooth drawl. With one chance encounter, Tegen becomes forever tied to Cage. Following is a wayward journey that is filled with regrets, mistakes, and heartache, pulling at the threads that hold them together. Cage and Tegen fight hard but love harder, and in the end, what matters is where the journey takes one girl and one boy, who have been twined with one another since the beginning.

This is Tegen and Cage’s story.

Love doesn’t erase a broken heart, and it sure doesn’t change people. But no matter how old, how flimsy, how frayed the rope of love is, it keeps you tethered to the people you love.

My Thoughts:

This series is fucked so fucked up. So. Very. Fucked. Up.

I know, I know, I sound like a broken record, but it’s true. This series is fucked up . . . and I love it.

As I’ve stated previously, this series is a big guilty pleasure for me, and I proudly admit it. I’m fascinated by this world of bikers who all have mouths that would make a sailor blush, love their women but have no problem calling them a bitch when they’re acting like it and even when they’re not (okay, actually, I’m not a fan of this, but then again the women don’t just sit there and take it, but rather tell them all how much of a bastard they really are), and put people to ground sometimes just because they feel like it. See? Fucked up.

In any case, I like this series so much, instead of putting months in between each book as I’m prone to doing (series marathoner I am not), I read each sequel not long after I had finished the previous book. And so, without having forgot any of the small details, it’s pretty easy for me to say while I liked Unattainable I still had some issues with it.

My main issue? Tegen. Oh. My. God. This girl annoyed the hell out of me. She made everyone’s life a living hell. I mean, I get why she did it, but damn, woman, can’t you just shut up for one minute and let someone else talk? Let them explain? You had no idea how much I wanted to bitch slap her.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked their story. It was just frustrating. So. Very. Frustrating. Cage’s story, in some ways, was a lot like his father, Deuce’s. By far, at least to me, Cage is the better man here, but still in a lot of ways . . . Father-like-son.

Also, about three-fourths of the book was just a mess. It was  a mess because, mostly, I was just always frustrated with Tegen and her temper tantrums and her refusal to just listen. I understand that she’d been hurt by Cage and that he had crushed a lot of her little-girl dreams by what he did, but damn it, sometimes little-girl dreams are “crushed” because when those pieces are put back together again, they make a much bigger, brighter dream; a dream that becomes reality. It wasn’t until almost the very end, after one of those one year time gap things happened, that I felt that Cage and Tegen’s story clicked and became not just tolerable but worth reading.

This book also told a story between two other characters who had been introduced in the previous books, Dirty and Danny’s friend, Ellie. Which brings me to my second issue: I wanted more of their story. It was Dirty and Ellie’s story that really had piqued my interest and made me continue on reading even when I became so frustrated with Cage and Tegen’s antics that I wanted to scream. Their story, for me, had much more meaning and could have been a full, satisfying book all on its own. It’s sad that it isn’t.

I’m going to have to wait a few months, whenever spring finally decides to rear its head and make its presence known, for the fourth book, Unbeloved. I’m really looking forward to this one because the story for these particular characters has been cooking since the first book, and I can’t wait to see where it goes and how it ends. It definitely won’t be any easy one and I’ll most likely lose my temper, but it won’t be anything new. Not when it comes to this series anyways.

Quotable Quotes:

My longtime broken heart was breaking again, shattering, falling to pieces and disintegrating. And in its place was a brand new heart. Like a phoenix rising from the ashes.

“Michael,” he heard her say, her voice soft. “Please look at me and let me show you what love is.”

My Rating:

1 Smooch1 Smooch1 SmoochHalf

Add to Goodreads ButtonBuy on Amazon Button

Leave a Reply

