My Funny Valentines

In honor of the holiday in which the mascot is a little cherub who dons only a diaper (because that’s sexy), I decided that I was going to share my favorite couples of all-time. While I love making lists, I didn’t realize — and looking back on it, I can’t believe I thought this was going to be easy — how hard it was going to be. Sure. A few of them were a given, but most of them I actually had to sit down and think. 

I haven’t had to do that since I graduated last May. It’s a miracle I still remember how to do it. 😉

At first the list was just going to consist of my top five favorite couples, but I couldn’t for the life of me narrow it down to just five, so I just chose seven because it’s my lucky number, it’s my post, and as of right now this country is still a democracy so that means I can do whatever the hell I want to . . . *clears throat* Sorry. Got off on a little tangent there. I won’t do it again . . . At least not in the same post. 😉

Anyways, let’s get on with it because these couples (M/M and M/F) are a lot sexier than any diaper wearing cherub could ever hope to be . . .

And for your enjoyment, a little Frank Sinatra.

Tangled

7. Drew Evans and Katherine Brooks in Tangled and Holy Matrimony by Emma Chase.

I read — and loved — Tangled back in June last summer on a road trip to Ohio. From my little nook in Georgia all the way to the little nook in Ohio where we were going, it’s close to a ten hour drive. We did that drive in one day, which as you could imagine was a long ass day. And when I wasn’t driving, I was reading. Tangled was one of the books that got started and read on the drive, and I knew from the very beginning that I had never — and probably will never again — read a male character that’s quite like Drew. He’s sexy, hilarious, rude, and crude all in the same go. Usually that kind of character would rub me the wrong way, but Drew rubbed me in all the right places, and I couldn’t help but fall in love with the guy. And Katherine? She doesn’t take any of Drew’s shit. She’s got brains, she’s beautiful, and she has plans. As you might imagine, these two made quite a pair.

On the Island6. T.J. Callahan and Amy Emerson in On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves.

Another one that I read last year sometime during my second semester of school . . . and one in which I sneaked read any chance I got. It’s that good. It’s that amazing. And I loved T.J. and Anna that much.

I was a little weary going in at first because of subject matter, but I like books that push the edge, push the boundaries on what society thinks is right, and as long as it’s done right then I’m all for reading anything no matter what it’s about.

On the Island? It was wrote perfectly. T.J. and Anna’s relationship evolves realistically from teachor and student to fellow survivors who need each other to survive to friends, and, finally, to a man and a woman who have grown to love each other. As you might be able to tell from the evolution in their relationship, this book takes place over a series of years, and if you haven’t read it, then I highly suggest you do because this book is beyond worth it.

5. Robert Westfall and Andrew McNelis in Where You Are by J.H. TrumbleWhere You Are

The second M/M that I had ever read, the first being Trumble’s Don’t Let Me GoWhere You Are is one of the most beautiful books I have ever read. What makes it so? Besides the writing, Robert, a senior in high school, and Andrew, his math teacher, are one of the most beautiful couples that I have ever had the pleasure of reading. A risqué subject matter, the story is written so well, and the characters are so real, that, honestly, I don’t see how anyone could think their relationship wrong.

Could it have happened at a better time? Perhaps, but then that would be counterproductive of the story, so . . . why don’t you just do yourself a favor and read the book if you haven’t already and then you’ll know what I’m talking about.

Plan B4. Danny Marshall and Lance Lenard in Plan B by S.J.D. Peterson.

I love this book. I love, I love it, I love it. It’s one of my all-time favorite books and one of the many reasons that it is one of my favorite books is because of Danny and Lance. Danny, by himself, is reason alone to read this book. He’s out there, sarcastic, and not ashamed of who he is. I’ve read a lot of reviews, however, that say they didn’t really like Danny’s personality. For me, that’s where Lance comes in. Lance, in his awkward GFY way, mellows Danny out. 

And in the same token, Danny helps Lance figure out who he really is. And then together they make one of the cutest couples . . .

I’ve got to reread this. Now.

3. Thomas Elkin and Cooper Jones in the Thomas Elkin trilogy by N.R. WalkerElements of Retrofit

So, I have a secret to share . . . I love older men, and I love men who love older men. I have never been put off by large age gaps between couples (fictional or otherwise). It’s most likely due to the fact that there is a large age gap between my own parents. In any case, I’ve read several reviews or comments where people had issues with there being such a large age gap between Tom and Cooper. You know what I have to say about that?

*Puts on Boston accent* Fah get about it! *Clears throat*

Seriously. That’s not the point to the series. The point is that no matter the age, if you have a connection, you have a connection. No matter the age, if you love him, you love him. And you should never let anyone who has something against the age difference try to get in your way.

Tom and Cooper didn’t let their age stop them from being seriously hot. Like . . . damn.

Diversion2. Lucky Lucklighter and Bo Schollenberger in the Diversion series by Eden Winters.

Oh sweet heavenly Jesus and all that is holy . . . Lucky and Bo are two of the hottest characters I have ever read. Just thinking about all the things they say to each other, do to each other . . . *Fans self* So. Freaking. Hot.

Complete opposites, one would think that they wouldn’t work, but somehow they do and . . . God, it’s just explosive. And for two men who have a really hard time showing just how they feel (Lucky more than Bo), you can tell that they honestly do care and love each other.

I marathoned this series (the three books that are out so far), and I don’t do that. I can count off on one hand in which I actually have, so when I do do that, then you know that the it’s really good.

1. Ty Grady and Zane Garrett in the Cut & Run series by Abigail Roux and Madeline UrbanCut & Run

My OTP . . . the reason why I learned what OTP meant. I fell in love with them from the get-go. The moment they first kissed in that hotel bathroom? *Dead*

The best thing about Ty and Zane though is that you get to see them actually fall in love. I mean, yeah, you see that with every couple you read about in a romance book, but with the series being as long as it is, it’s not an instant thing. It’s very gradual, and even when they do realize that they are in love with the other, they don’t immediately come out and say it. They wait a book, and then tell the other. 😉 And another one of my favorite things about them? Just because they are in love — deeply — they still argue, they still disagree! They’re still their own person! Hallelujah! (And the make-up sex is freaking ah-maz-ing).

Anyone that has read this series and has fallen in love with Ty and Zane know there are a million and one other things that can be said about them, but they also know it’s hard to put into words. Ty and Zane just are and that’s what makes them beyond imperfectly perfect.

❖❖❖❖❖❖❖

Well, there you have it people. My list of my favorite couples, couples that I could continuously read about and never get tired of. This list is by no means complete, but for time’s sake (because who wants to be here for the rest of eternity?), I had to cut it down to a much more realistic number.

I know I missed a lot of fan favorites, but this is my opinion, so why don’t you comment down below and tell me if you agree, disagree, or you just have to ask, “How the hell could you have forgotten about . . .”

3 thoughts on “My Funny Valentines

Leave a Reply

