Most Anticipated Reads: April

Well. It’s that time of month again . . .

The moment where we state what books that we, with all good intentions, plan on reading, or in the very least attempt to. Sometimes we succeed, and other times we fail (and when I say we, I mean me, Runell, because someone was a good little trooper and actually read all the books that she said she was going to for the month of March, whereas I only read one).

It’s a good thing we’re not given any gold stars because I would be more than just slightly lacking.

*Sniffs indignantly* Whatever. I don’t need anyone’s gold stars. I’m my own person.

*Mutters* I really want those goddamn gold stars . . .

Runell’s 3 Most Anticipated Books of April 2014:

1. Mark Cooper versus America by Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock: I’ve had my eye on this for quite sometime now, even before it was Mark Cooper versus America released back at the end of January, but no matter how much I wanted to read it, I wasn’t really in the mood for it.

I’m in the mood for it now. In fact, I have been for the last few weeks, but since it was chosen for me for a challenge that kicks off in April, I couldn’t touch it until then. As I’m writing this, I’m merely thirty-eight minutes away from it officially being April 1st. That challenge I was talking about? Yeah, it’s a challenge that goes on for three months, so it starts at the first of April and ends on July 31, and within those three months it’s my goal to finish as many of the sixty-two books (yes, 62) that were chosen for me.

And this will be the first one that I read. I’m determined that it will be.

Also, I’m really looking forward to all the naughty glory that I’ve heard about in this book. I know someone’s got a little lace (?) fetish, I believe, and someone (note, I’m not aware of who these someone’s are) likes to be spanked? I’m pretty sure I read that in a review somewhere… At least I hope I did because hello!

2. Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander #2) by Diana Gabaldon: If you happen to follow me on Goodreads (and if you don’t, maybe you should because then you get to see me in all my .gif glory), then you would be aware, very aware, that I read Outlander in six days (and I would’ve finished it sooner but those last two days as I closed in on the last one hundred pages, I didn’t want to finish it because I didn’t Dragonfly in Amberhave Dragonfly on hand), and absolutely loved it. Claire, I’m pretty sure, is my favorite female character ever now, and I want to marry Jamie sooo bad.

I’ve always been attracted to darker men (tall, dark, and handsome: yes, yes, and yes), and have pretty much never found blonde and red heads appealing (I pretty much figure it’s because I’m so fair myself and hate it), but Jamie is one red-headed Scotsman that I would love to do very, very wicked things with.

Just sayin’ . . .

So, the quicker I can back to Jamie the better. (Also as a very brief side note, my favorite color ever is orange, and my hardback copy of this book is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. Seriously.)

3. Only Love by Garrett Leigh: I don’t really know what to say about this one other then, GIMME, GIMME, GIMME. I read Slide and Marked by Garrett Leigh and absolutely fell in loveOnly Love with Pete and Ash and the way my heart was ripped out of my chest, thrown into the dirt and squashed repeatedly, then picked up and placed back into my chest cavity and given a nice little, there, there pat at the end.

Apparently, I’m a masochist.

At least in the hands of Garrett Leigh.

And just by the blurb alone, I know I’m going to be in masochistic heaven . . . Or is hell?

Catherine’s 3 Most Anticipated Books of April 2014:

1. The Boyfriend Mandate (The Boyfriend Chronicles #2) by River Jaymes:  Last year, I fell in love with River’s first full-length M/M romance novel, The Backup Boyfriend. As far as I was concerned, the book was pure perfection – perfect characters, perfect plot, perfect pacing, perfect dialogue, and a perfectly believable gay-for-you romance. (It probably also doesn’t hurt that it’s been four months and I still can’t think about motor oil without needing to take a cold shower.) *fans flushed face*

April marks the much, much anticipated release of the second book in the series. As of this moment, there’s no cover, no book blurb, and no firm release date. And yet, I still want to read it more than a man lost in the desert wants a tall, ice-cold glass of water. That is the power of the auto-buy author, folks. River Jaymes… she’s just that good.

Vaughn & Boehme Cover2. Wood, Screws, & Nails by Piper Vaughn and Kade Boehme: Vaughn’s books were some of the first that I read in the M/M romance genre and she has quickly become one of my go-to authors. I know that her books will always be sweet, sexy, and have just enough angst to give the book’s climax an emotional punch. Boehme, on the other hand, is one of my most recent discoveries; I read – and loved – Trouble & the Wallflower last month. I found his characters familiar, yet fresh, and the book’s ending bittersweet, but authentic.

When I learned that the two were collaborating on a book about a sexy contractor falling in love with his son’s best friend…? Ha! Sliding it to the top of my TBR mountain for April became a no-brainer (mostly because my brain is now filled with construction-themed sexual innuendo).

NR Cover3. Shadow Spell (The Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy #2) by Nora Roberts: *sigh* I heart Nora Roberts books. As the first romance author I ever read, she’ll always have a special place in my heart. That’s why, even though I almost never read M/F romance novels anymore, I am dying to read the next book in the Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy. It’s set in Ireland, has witchy themes, and revolves around a gaggle of sexy men and strong, smart women kicking evil’s proverbial ass. Let’s be real: it’s like the perfect recipe for everything Roberts does best.

4 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Reads: April

  1. Good List! Read Dragonfly yrs ago,wont spoil. But WOW! And yes AGREE w/ River Jaymes new one. Still quoting her and having hot flashes myself!

    • I’m making Runell my guinea pig on the Gabaldon books. I haven’t read any yet, but she is LOVING them, so I know I’ll have to read them soon as well. Glad to hear that I’m not the only one that is DYING of anticipation over River’s next book. I’m all grabby hands and “gimme! gimme! gimme!” 🙂

  2. Such good little readers…well, Runell anyway. 😉 No stars for you Cat. I’m jealous, I’ve barely had any time to read anything fun lately. These sound good. I learned a while ago not to make promises on my planned reads, I never follow them either. 😉 Anxious to see what you think of these.

    • Wait! Why don’t I get any stars?! I deserve ’em too!

      Runell and I are both mood readers, so we rarely stick to what we pick in these posts (even though we have the best of intentions). I already have one default, though, since River Jaymes has had to delay the release of her next book. We’ll see how I do with the other two. lol. I’d say you have to make time for fun reading, but I remember what being a student is like…

Leave a Reply

